Daryl Vaz Statement

See Statement from Mr. Daryl Vaz below. Please refer to this statement until further notice.
 
August 21, 2012
 

STATEMENT FROM DARYL VAZ, MP

 

I was  today formally advised that arising from an investigation into a traffic violation involving my close personal friend, the DPP Office has ruled  that I be charged under  section 14 -2 of the Corruption Prevention Act which states:  A person commits an act of corruption if he offers or grants, directly or indirectly, to a public servant any article, money or other benefit, being a gift, favour, promise of advantage to the public servant or another person, for doing any act or omitting to do any act in the performance of the public servant’s public function.

 

I categorically deny doing any of the above and will be vigorously contesting this charge through my attorney Mr. George Soutar QC.  My involvement in this matter is of a personal nature and as such I would never compromise myself or any public officer.

 

My enquiries into this matter concerning my close friend were made out of concern and done openly and with no ill intent.

 

DARYL VAZ MP

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

